God Will Provide


Background:

Troubled Times

Troubled Times

Sometimes troubles are known well in advance. Sometimes troubles come completely as a surprise. Troubles are often the result of our bad decisions. Troubles can be minor. Troubles can be major. Troubles can pierce the very soul of man. However, troubles are sometimes the prelude to opportunity … opportunity to triumph over adversity … opportunity to gain a better understanding of ourselves and others … opportunity to face a problem head-on … opportunity to allow God to take over a situation for us … opportunity to help someone else through their similar troubles … opportunity to give glory to God for His great loving kindness.

Christian, I have good news upon which you can rely. Whatever the situation might be, God is in control. God always hears your prayers. God always has THE answer for ALL of your troubles.  GOD WILL PROVIDE!!

At the conclusion of this article you will find a link to a song.  I strongly encourage you to listen.  It will encourage your heart!   (You can listen now and come back here after it has finished if your prefer … but it would be best to wait.  Don’t miss the song.)

Scripture:  (all scripture ESV unless otherwise noted)

Psalm 46:1 –  “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in (times of) trouble.

1 Peter 5:6-7  – 6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, 7 casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 – 3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

Psalm 34:17 – When the righteous cry for help, the Lord hears and delivers them out of all their troubles.

Psalm 56:8 (MSG) – You’ve kept track of my every toss and turn through the sleepless nights, each tear entered in your ledger, each ache written in your book.

John 16:33 – I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.

John 14:27 – Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

Hebrews 2:17-18 – 17 Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect, so that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. 18 For because he himself has suffered when tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.  

2 Corinthians 12:7-9 – So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  

Proverbs 3:5-6 (NKJV) – Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct[a] your paths.

Philippians 4:6-7 – 6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Discussion:

God KnowsGod CaresGod Will Provide

God Knows
God Cares
God Will Provide

God knows about each and every one of our troubling situations.  As my Pastor, Dr. Keith Pisani, often says … God Knows, God Cares!  God has already worked it out and is just waiting for us to get on board.The Bible teaches that “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in (times of) trouble” (Psalm 46:1).   We can be assured that God is our Deliverer, our Rescuer, our Redeemer! There is no need to hold on to our troubles. Instead, The Bible teaches us to turn ALL of our troubles over (ALL of your anxieties, ALL of your worries, ALL of your concerns) to our Heavenly Father.  God cares for man (His unique creation in His own image) like no other (1 Peter 5:6-7).  In His Time God Will Provide His matchless comfort (2 Corinthians 1:3-4).

King David was continually tormented by His troubles. David often wrestled with himself and with the Lord.  But David had a heart for God and God loved David.  Even in the midst of David’s sleepless nights God was there.  In Psalm 56:8 (MSG) David recorded “You’ve kept track of my every toss and turn through the sleepless nights, Each tear entered in your ledger, each ache written in your book.”  As a young husband and father I can remember many sleepless nights tossing and turning, worrying about financial challenges and all sorts of troubles.  Looking back now I can see how God was working on me in every one of those situations.  God was always there.  God always provided.  God was sufficient for my every need.  Based upon a lifetime of experiences, it is with great certainty and God’s peace that passes understanding (John 16:33, John 14:27) that I am able to say: God Will Provide for the Christian in every situation.

The Bible teaches that it was necessary for Jesus to be “made like his brothers in every respect, so that He might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make propitiation (the reconciliation) for the sins of the people.  For because He himself has suffered when tempted, He is able to help those who are being tempted” (Hebrews 2:17-18)No one ever cared for you like Jesus!  In the second form of the Holy Trinity, Jesus, and thus God, was tempted and suffered.  Jesus overcame every temptation.  God is able to help you overcome all circumstances.  Jesus suffered and He overcame that suffering.  God understands your suffering.  God’s care is sure.  God’s steadfast love is unfailing.  God’s promises are secure.    God Will Provide.

Reflection:

The Bible records that the Apostle Paul suffered from a chronic physical affliction. We aren’t told the nature of the affliction but we know that it was a chronic condition that  often kept Paul from his work as a tent maker. Paul pleaded three times with God (2 Corinthians 12:7-8) to take the affliction away, but God chose not to heal Paul telling him instead “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9a).  Oh my!  His power, that is … God’s power, is made perfect in our weakness!  Oh that I could say along with Paul: “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me” (2 Corinthians 12:9b).

Facing your troubles and stressful circumstances on our own is futile.  I have heard both professional counselors and amateur psychologists say that the solution to dealing with all of our anxieties is to improve our coping skills.  Instead of just learning to cope, why not just “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding” (Proverbs 3:5-6).  God knows!  God cares!  God Will Provide!

A personal note is appropriate at this point.  Twenty-seven months ago, three months after I retired from active full-time work of almost 50 years, I experienced a significant health issue.  That issue drastically changed my everyday life.  I had never been seriously ill.  Then in one day all that changed.  At first I wondered if I would be able to do those things that my wife and I had planned to do in retirement.  My illness seemed to severely limit those plans.  However, the health issues allowed me to learn that God had something else in mind for my future.  With my physical activity limited, God turned me toward Christian writing.  At first I planned only to write a few personal articles to pass along to my children, grandchildren and future family generations. But God changed my vision almost immediately.  He led me to start a blog site.  He then led me to publish a book, then another. I soon will publish my third book.  God taught me through this experience that my health problem had a very specific purpose.  God was laying an opportunity of a lifetime at my feet.  I was convicted that He wanted me to take the trouble and turn it into a triumph.  The writing has worked out to be a lifetime dream fulfilled.  God knew.  God cared.  God provided!

Friend, will you trust God to provide for you?  He had for me and He will for you.  If you haven’t yet accepted God as your Savior will you do so now?  I have a helpful section on my blog site on how to “Become A Christian.”  There is really nothing you can do on your own to secure God’s promise of eternal life.  God has already done that for you through Jesus Christ.  Even in your need to be saved, God knows, God cares, God Will Provide.

Here is a wonderfully performed song by Gold City that will encourage your soul.  By all means, listen to the gospel in song by clicking the following link:  God Will Provide.

__________________________________________________________________

Additional Scriptures for Your Times of Trouble:

For Times of Trouble from http://www.familylife.comDay 3 of God Has Not Forgotten You

  • The death of a loved one – Matthew 5:4; Psalm 116:15; 2 Corinthians 5:8
  • Facing a terrible illness – Psalm 103:3; Isaiah 53:5; Jeremiah 17:14; Matthew 26:39
  • The separation of family members – Ephesians 3:20
  • The loss of your job, home, and other possessions – Philippians 4:19; Matthew 6:31-34
  • Financial troubles – Psalm 34:10; Joshua 1:8; Luke 6:38
  • The fear of all you have yet to deal with – Isaiah 41:10
  • The destruction of your beloved city or community – Isaiah 58:12

Related Links and Articles:

Related Articles by Jim Davenport:

Southern Gospel Music:

About jimdavenport

Jim Davenport resides in the USA in Northeast Georgia, is a member of a Southern Baptist Church and is a retired Christian business man. Jim and his wife Charlotte have one son and daughter in law, Keven and Amy, four grandchildren – Ashlyn (Davenport) & Josh Murphy, Mason & Rebecca (Knight) Davenport and four great-grandchildren. Jim and Charlotte own a mountain get-away home located on Lookout Mountain in Alabama where they spend many spring, summer and fall days working in their raised bed organic garden. Jim has served as a Deacon and Trustee in his local church most of his adult life and on the Executive Committee and Finance Committee of the Board of Trustees of Shorter University, an intentionally Christian institution located in Rome, Georgia. Jim has a passion for the word of God and has always believed that Christian principles should guide every aspect of his life. He also loves Christian music and often served as a tenor soloist in his church. One of the highlights of his life was the nearly 20 years he spent singing with The Good News, a Southern Gospel quartet. Jim served as an Information Technology professional his entire working career of 50 years holding senior positions in and consulting with hundreds of world-class organizations in the United States, Canada, Europe, Central and South America, Australia and New Zealand. Jim remains as President and CEO of InfoSys Solutions Associates, Inc. and is a retired partner of IT Governance Partners, LLC, both of which are “Trusted Advisor” technology and business consulting firms. Jim has authored a number of books available at www.jimdavenport.me/jims-books. His blog has ben read by readers from more than 170 countries. Jim holds both a BS and an MS in Mathematics from Georgia State University in Atlanta, Georgia and completed Management Development Training at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia.
This entry was posted in Bible Studies, Christian Devotions, Southern Gospel Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to God Will Provide

  1. Pingback: Moving On – In Accordance With God’s Will | jimdavenport

  2. Pingback: Thank You Lord for Saving My Soul – Update | jimdavenport

  3. Pingback: Blessings in Disguise* – a Thanksgiving Devotional | jimdavenport

  4. bwebbjr says:

    Good morning Jim, I was familiar with other translations of Psalm 56:8 but not the MSG version. After tossing and turning and being restless in my bed imagine the comfort such a verse provided when I finally decided to get up and do some blog reading. Thank you for this timely teaching for me and specifically for pointing me to Psalm 56:8. Your brother IN Christ! Bernie

    Like

    • jimdavenport says:

      Bernie, that verse in particular (Psalm 56:8) has provided me great comfort on the many times I have tossed and turned while wrestling with a problem. I experienced insomnia much of my life and often went several days without much sleep at all when I was younger. I often said that if I lived to be an old man I would be surprised because I had been awake so much more than the average person of xx years. God knows, God cares, God provides for our every thought and movement. What a joy to know that He is ALLWAYS there for us no matter the circumstances. God’s Blessings, Jim D.

      Like

Leave a comment